Try walking in my shoes

Make-up all over the coffee table together with hot brewed Chinese tea. Hair in rollers and eyes multiplied in size by blue contacts and fake eyelashes. Still wearing our comfy clothes before we pull ourselves into party outfits and chitchat while doing each other’s make-up. That’s what I call a typical girls night out.

The preparation beforehand is even more fun than the party itself. Though you won’t hear me complain when there is a chance for me to let loose and dance the night away. And complaining was certainly not on the agenda that night. We were perfectly capable of making a boring ass party fun by simply making the most out of it. We entered the room with a smile on our faces and went out with an even brighter one. It was time to go home and break away from the crowd.

But don’t just think that going home wouldn’t involve any obstacles. For some, this thought won’t even cross their mind. I mean, why would going home be an obstacle?

It’s simple, because I’m a woman.

Did I tell you it was a girls night out? Let me correct myself, it was more like a woman’s night out, considering we’re all of mature.

So, when four grown-ass women just minding their own business walk down the city streets on their way home, you would think that doesn’t come with any potential danger, especially seen as we were walking on the same goddamn streets where I grew up, you would think we wouldn’t get bothered. I was lucky that the four of us didn’t shy away to confront a man who could not stop following us, let alone making him aware and embarrassed that he was disturbing our walk home. A place where we feel 100% safe.

Still, we were lucky, because you never know what could have happen.

To those men on the streets; how would you feel when every time you go out for a fun night, you also need to take into account that you have to be alert of any dangers around you once it’s time to head home. Even on the streets where you grew up. The same streets where you walked around cheerfully as a child without any worries or a sense of danger.
How would YOU feel when you expect such encounters when you walk across a group of men and don’t feel surprised about it at all. When you try hard to not look threatened or scared and just convince yourself that you should see the good in people.

I do, but sometimes it’s better to view a situation as a worst case scenario to prevent any danger to yourself. It’s a battle against my own morals, only because of the fact that I’m a woman. So I just wanted to ask those who can relate to such behaviour.

Try walking in my shoes.

Not just any shoes, but some kick ass stilettos that can send your balls flying.

Just try it.

Try walking in my shoes.

Try walking in these uncomfortable shoes, because it’s hard sometimes. The only ones we are causing pain is ourselves by wearing such unwearable shoes. But still, we don’t hurt other people or scare them. So no matter how hard and unfair it can be sometimes,

I’m still glad we aren’t using our nature to scare or hurt others.

Try walking in my shoes. For once, feel the pain we must endure as women.

brooke-cagle-70750

From the girl who rambles through life

Plaats een reactie