Travel won’t cure your mind but it can change the way you think

I used to be that person who will walk away in the middle of a fight or even during a heated discussion because I couldn’t stand how uncomfortable confrontation made me feel. Time after time, I would find a way to escape anything that makes me feel uncomfortable. It has become a habit of mine that I would still pull off every now and then. Over time, I have learned little by little how to handle situations that require me to take a good look at myself first instead of running away from my encounters.

Four months ago, I pulled this trick again – I escaped. I wanted to leave behind the place where everything bad happened to me. I wanted to forget those who did wrong to me – so I stepped onto the plane and flew to the other side of the world. For weeks, my adventurous hunger got fed by visiting new places and meeting new people. Everywhere I turn was something new. Everywhere I went turned into a new memory. For months, I kept myself busy and distracted by working, traveling and more working and just being ‘’on’’ all the time. Why?

Because I made a promise to myself, which is that I would finally be at peace once I have set foot in this new place I was constantly daydreaming about.

But honestly, who am I kidding? Who would think that my worries will magically turn into ashes when I go to another continent? Don’t get me wrong, I love traveling, it sets my heart on fire but it shouldn’t be a tool for use by escaping my problems. Because the truth is, where ever you go – you will meet toxic people.

Where ever you go – life will still throw shit at you.

No matter how many people I have met along the way, my mind still long for the ones I have left behind. This all made me think that not only bad things happened back at home, but countless irreplaceable memories as well. True, I have had my portion of bad luck but there are still people back at home, always rooting for me. Even when I’m not physically together with them, I know that they are supporting my every move and every decision.

Travel won’t cure your mind, but it can change the way you think.

To be honest, I feel ashamed and sorry towards those back at home that I have taken for granted for – while in the meantime I was longing to escape to this place, which is far far away from where I come from, to find out later on that everything that I needed was already in front of me. And everything that I thought I would need, was indeed not what I was looking for. The friggin’ irony.

I always have had the ability to cure my own mind. No amount of traveling or anything else can do that for me. Only myself.
Still, I don’t regret coming all the way here by myself to find out that no matter where I go – when you view the world in negatives, you will attract negativity. And the final place to find peace?

It is to create it within myself, surrounded by my favorite people.

DSC07011

From the girl who rambles through life 

Een gedachte over “Travel won’t cure your mind but it can change the way you think

Plaats een reactie