Nothing worth pursuing is easy

Nothing worth pursuing is easy

I am in constant pursuit.

Of what?

Self-development

Ever since I felt stuck in life after graduation, I was desperately finding a way to not feel that ever again. I thought the answer to it was to find something I would see myself doing as a career. After some attempts, I found myself once again stuck and confused, not knowing what my following step would be.

So I caved. Isolated from the outside world. Isolated from any human contact except my family and boyfriend. The longer I retreated and stayed in my cave a.k.a my comfort zone, the harder it was to get out of it. On the other hand, the longer I stayed inside, the more my brain begged me to keep it nourished with more exposure.

But comfort is easy, always has been.
It’s our guilty pleasure, except it gets dangerous when we allow it to take a huge space of our life. Guess what? We usually welcome comfort without hesitation into our arms because we know there is no any effort attached to it. What I also mean by comfort is the fact that we use it as a justification for anything we would like to try out but are too afraid to act on it.

Just like me when I wanted to grow in life but didn’t want to go through the actual process. I may have imagined how better off I would be if I already have taken the necessary steps, but I was too busy waiting for the perfect moment to start. The moment when all stars are aligned towards me. And of course, that didn’t happen. To pursue something won’t happen in a week, a month or even a year, let alone overnight.

There is no perfect moment to start.

I waited long enough to finally enter the door to pursue growth. That door led me to all different directions where I get to choose which one I want to take. But that was too overwhelming, to begin with. Because for me, even the first step was already hard enough, let alone all the following ones which made me further away from my comfort zone. Each step came with different challenges which were equally as hard as the previous steps. Because during each step, I grew stronger while the challenges got harder.

Nothing worth pursuing is easy.

It already starts with getting out of bed. Each morning, I rather sleep in or even want to ignore the alarm clock altogether. It’s easy to give in and continue to sleep under the warm blankets. It’s easy to stay in hibernation instead of going into the wild that can take you closer to your pursuit. It’s somewhere out there – where life happens.

I don’t know exactly where, but for sure it’s not in our bubble – our comfort zone.

I keep thinking I haven’t accomplished much but when I actually look back on how much I have grown by the small steps I have taken  – compared to those days that my brain was on auto-pilot – I already have been working on my self-development. And not only career-wise but on all aspects of life.

Nothing worth pursuing is easy.

The first step is the hardest. Then it gets better, but still hard.

I mean, look at me:
From a full-time hermit to a social animal who go out almost every day. If that isn’t development, I don’t know what is.

jakob-owens-168417

From the girl who rambles through life  

Plaats een reactie